Art Appraisal Club

And you are now a star and I’m still no one ─ Brief notes on female artists in my time

Text/LEUNG Po Shan Anthony

 

 

 

Female artists “made disappearance”

This is a “by-product” of my Doctoral thesis. I was having an interview with my artist friend WONG Wai Yin on the topic of motherhood in a café located in an alley in Hung Hom back in December 2013. She mentioned a work on display in her solo exhibition during residence in New York – in which lines of various colours were gelled into lyrics from a song by Radiohead – “And you are now a star” on one side, and “and I’m still no oneon the other, with the “you” in the lyrics referring to her artist husband KWAN Sheung Chi (born 1980). He is her idol. She loves him dearly.

On the hand as an art critic, I felt utterly sorry for her – why is she who always got wiped out by market force as he stays?

Wong Wai Yin - ISCP open studio
Wong Wai Yin
ISCP Open Studio
Exhibition View/ 2009

But I’m still no one

But I’m still no one. And you’re now a star”

That encounter explains my attempt in a seminar themed at Lee Kit. I led in the talk with names of female artists from the Faculty of Fine Art of The Chinese University of Hong Kong: TSANG Chui Mei (Born 1972), KWOK Ying (Born 1977), AU Hoi Lam (Born 1978), WONG Wai Yin (Born 1981), Sarah LAI (Born 1983) all the way to WONG Ka Ying (Born 1990), while deliberately skipping their male counterparts. With the indisputable fact that “Hong Kong art has been too good for too long. (quoted from Frank Vigneron) Hong Kong women artists are too good to be mentioned”, it doesn’t really matter if they like the categorization of “female artists”.

I intend no categorization according to styles, but elaboration on their common problematique. Across generations during these somewhat 20 years, painting remains the axis of ideas among these female artists. It all starts with their positive or opposite relationship with painting– notwithstanding the media involved, and the nature of that “connection”.

Painting as object

TSANG Chui Mei - Fragments and Sediments

TSANG Chui Mei
Fragments and Sediments
Acrylic on canvas/ 122 x 153 cm/ 2013
 (Photography: Eddie , Lam  Chi Ying)

TSANG Chui Mei (graduated 1996) and KWOK Ying(graduated 2000) both picked painting as the sole medium. Tsang has been painting continuously for the past decade or so. Through the tactical application of colours, brushworks and layers, she delivered distinct sentiments while exploring on the constant subject, immersing herself in the space of the frame. Kwok on the other hand has been toying around the concepts of painting and objects, and deliberately confusing viewers’ sense of touch and vision. Daily objects “restored” in a plane were magnified and viewed in micro-detail: Works like tiles drew straight to the wall, plane-imitating door carpet, created a sense of unfamiliarity to viewers. Nonetheless, Kwok has recently shifted focus from practice to exhibition curation.

AU Hoi Lam - My Father Is Over The Ocean

AU Hoi Lam
My Father Is Over The Ocean: 60 Questions for dad (or myself)
Varying size/ 2013
Exhibition photo

AU Hoi Lam, TSANG Chui Mei’s roommate at Fontanian, is possibly a representative in the aspect of “painting as object”. She went even one step further by standing in front of her own work – expressing the biographical narrative through abstract shapes, colour planes, numbers and micro patterns. She might sometimes make use of the thickness of the painting to emphasize on the side of a work, just like creaming a sponge cake; at other times she might press the painting into a thin and smooth handkerchief. What stunned you most is probably the abstract format that seemingly deprives you of direct relation to the numerous stories to be told through the work. She might even refuse to give a word on what is actually going on after fetching you figures, time and venues, and confining you on a surface of rich texture – with repeated layering, treading and binding. After completing her Master degree in Fine Art, she even finished another thesis themed on Foucault. She rendered more in-depth exploration than abstract eroticism by dragging herself between subjectivity and truth. In My Father Is Over The Ocean, a solo exhibition in memory of her father, Au dismantled items full of personal memories, put them in order with traces of marks and colours on exercise books; Dates moved forward while time traveled backward – in search of the origin when nothing’s lost. The shift from highly compressed emotion to its free expression makes it the most touching solo exhibition in 2013 for me.

Artist in front of the work

WONG Wai Yin (graduated 2004) has also been toying on “painting as object” and yet took a “reversed” path. She stepped even further than Au, by firstly performing wonders on items that bear least resemblance to art, and then humorously posing the delicate question: “But is it art?” to viewers. She imitated daily goods and tools with paperboards (which is not only LEE Kit’s favorite material); and reproduced posters at art museums with pale watercolours. She even mocked herself with her introverted personality in her New York solo exhibition “One you might understand. One you might not understand.” The exhibition includes works such as two versions of portfolio (A portfolio out of context, A portfolio people might understand) and a cable with plug at both ends (a clear mock of the so-called “networking” in artistic circle). Wong’s work can well be classified as institution critique, but the true value lies in her witty application of material in various media like painting, objects, photography or video recording.

A knife and a black fruit

Sarah LAI
A knife and a black fruit
36 x 41 cm/ oil paint/ 2013.
Ways to display fruits VII
gypsum and plastic/ 2013.

Tracing their common path, I asked Wong if there were any noteworthy young artists out there. She suggested Sarah Lai, saying, “Her paintings are good. And she’s a sober brain”. She was the “covergirl” for the “artistic village” feature by City Magazine back in the issue of January 2012. Graduated in 2007, Lai had Lee Kit as her tutor in her university years. Both Lai and Lee built solid foundation in painting in their secondary school years and advanced to a more conceptual development in tertiary ones. For Lai, music is her muse (she loves listening to Noise), and personal feelings became the first consideration when it comes to choice of subject. Lai differed from Lee in the sense that she still focused on famed painting in a truly “scientific” process – She would either retrieve her ideal image online, or photographed daily goods before “reproducing” the item of her choice: a cloud, a diving platform without athlete, or a piece of butter, on canvas. Though “real”, these objects were isolated after partial retrieval. The scene even looked cyber with her intentional application of low value in saturating and hue, and subtle twists in the confined tone. The installation on display in Art Taipei 2013 successfully restored the still object to a 3-D sculpture: A pale-purple peach and a yellowish-white lemon in a real fruit basket, plus an oil-painted sharp knife, all accentuated a sense of drama beyond description. This search for “truth” in media and “re-media”, and a Y-generation reflection, opens a whole new world of presentation from Tsang’s generation.

Strategic use of labeling

WONG Ka Ying - friends

WONG Ka Ying
Friends Fuji Instax Wide Film/ 10.8 cm x 8.6 cm/ Set of six/ 2011

Shall one avoid the identity of “female artist” or embrace it strategically? It looks as if there is no need to bring the topic up again in an artistic circle which feminism raises little interest. As a fresh graduate last year, Wong raised eyebrows by playing the concept of bad girl feminism to the full – printing pictures of her naked self on the exhibition brochure, inviting “uncles” to keep her as call-girl. Her graduation showpiece, however, returned to pictorial plane with sexual and political taboos unveiled. Would this explicit feminine declaration stand out from the pool of “docile paintings”?

Back to Top

Art Appraisal Club

筆記沿途的女性藝術家

 And you are now a star and I’m still no one – 筆記沿途的女性藝術家

梁寶山

Wong Wai Yin - ISCP open studio

圖:黃慧妍
ISCP Open Studio
Exhibition View/ 2009

女性藝術家「被消失」

這篇小文是我博士論文的副產品。2013年12月,我在紅磡窄巷的一間小cafe內,就motherhood議題訪問我的藝術家朋友黃慧妍。她提到2009年在紐約留駐時的個展,其中一個作品,用不同顏色的線,gel成Radio Head的歌詞─ 一邊是「你如今已是明星」;另一端是「而我卻沒有名字」。作品中的這個你,正是她的藝術家丈夫關尚智(1980年生)。她很愛他,他是她的偶像。

我這個伏匿着的藝評人,聽後很替她不值─在這個他和她中間,為什麼她總會被市場抹去?

But I’m still no one

But I’m still no one. And you’re now a star”

於是,在另一場談論李傑的講座上,我決定對所有的他們隻字不提,反而從他身處的中大藝術系小圈子內的女性藝術家談起:曾翠薇(1972生)、郭瑛(1977生)、區凱琳(1978生)、黃慧妍(1981生)、黎卓華(1983生)及至黃嘉瀛(1990) 無論她們喜不喜歡「女性藝術家」這個稱謂─擺在面前的事實是:Hong Kong art has been too good for too long (韋一空語) ─ Hong Kong women artists are too good to be mentioned.

我暫時無意作任何「風格」歸納,反而想說明圍繞住他/她們的問題意識。差不多二十年跨度的幾代人,這個小群體似乎一直以繪畫作為思考的軸心─無論使用什麼媒體,都得從與繪畫或正或反的關係說起。

繪畫作為物件

TSANG Chui Mei - Fragments and Sediments
圖:曾翠薇
瞞天 塑膠彩布本122 x 122 cm
碎片與沉積物 塑膠彩布本122 x 153 cm
(攝影:林子英)

曾翠薇(1996年畢業)與郭瑛(2000年畢業)都以「繪畫」作為媒界,前者十多年來從沒離開過架上創作,以色彩、筆觸和各種塗抹效果,緩慢地推敲幾乎是相同的母題以表現不同的情緒,是個徹頭徹尾完全地沉浸在畫幅空間的畫家。而郭瑛打從一開始就去把玩繪畫與物體之間,刻意混淆的視覺與觸覺,從直接刻劃在牆面上的階磚,到模仿平面的門氈,這些被加以放大、微觀的日常生活物件,因為被「還原」到二度空間的平面上而被陌生化。可惜後者近年已轉而專注策展。

AU Hoi Lam - My Father Is Over The Ocean
圖:區凱琳
爸爸出海去 展覽一角「給爸爸(或自己)的六十個問題」
鉛筆、丙烯顏料彩調色劑、油性墨、螺釘、用過的雙層床之松木部件
尺寸可變

曾翠薇在伙炭工作室的室友區凱琳,可說是把繪畫作為物件(painting as object)的表表者,但比曾翠薇更進一步的讓自己站在作品面前─「自述」(biographical & narrative)式的囈語,都以抽象的形狀、色塊、數字和微觀的圖案來表現。她有時會利用厚重的畫框,像奶油蛋糕一般強調「框外」的側面;有時卻又會把繪畫壓縮在平薄而畢直的手帕上。區凱琳作品迷人之處是你知道繪畫裡面一定包含着很多故事,卻又因為抽象的形式而無法對號入座。她甚至會丟給你一些數字或時間地點,但又會把觀者困在反覆塗抺、磨平、黏貼,質感豐富的表面,婉拒進一步的具體解讀。區凱琳在完成藝術碩士後,還以傅柯作為研究專題做了另一份碩一論文。區凱琳作品在主體與真相的糾葛之間,其實有着比abstract eroticism更深刻的探索。從高度壓縮到從容不迫,區凱琳去年紀念她父親為題的個展《爸爸出海去》裡,把盛載着個人記憶的物件拆散,與書簿上留下的記號和顏色在展場裡逐一排列;日期雖然向前,但時間卻在倒敍,企圖回到並未失去的原點。我認為是2013年最感人的個展。

先於作品的藝術家

開首提及的黃慧妍(2004年畢業),也是把玩繪畫作為物件,卻是從物件「倒行」到繪畫,並且比區凱琳「站的更前」,利用藝術家的身份,一方面令不像藝術的物件點石成金,另一方面又透過各種幽默的手法詰問「作品」「係唔係藝術先?」。她會用紙皮(不獨是李傑的偏愛)模仿各種日常物件和工具,又會以輕描淡寫的水彩去重畫藝術館的宣傳海佈。那個從沒有人提及的紐約個展,更擺出各種不善交際的自嘲,包括兩個版本的portfolio (一個看的明白、一個看不明白)、兩條末端都是插頭的電線(嘲諷藝術圈所謂的「networking」)。黃慧妍的作品可被歸類為institution critique,但更重要的是無論是繪畫、物件、攝影抑或錄象,都慧黠地四兩撥千斤。

A knife and a black fruit
圖:黎卓華
一把刀和一個黑色水果 36 x 41 cm 油彩, 2013年
水果的展示方式(七)石膏與塑膠 2013 年

沿着她們的思路順藤摸瓜,我問黃慧妍有那些值得留意的年青藝術家。她便着我訪問黎卓華去:「她畫畫的很好,又是很會想的女孩。」她也是2012年1月《號外》「藝村」特輯的「封面女郎」。這條思路果然徑渭分明─2007年畢業的黎卓華,大學時代正由李傑當助教。與李傑一樣,在中學時代已打好非常扎實的繪畫基礎,到了大學便走向概念發展。音樂是她重要的靈感來源(她愛聽noise),取象感覺先行。但不同的是黎卓華的創作仍以架上繪畫為主,而且過程非常「科學」─她會在互聯網裡擷取心目中的圖象,又或自行把日常物件拍成照片,然後才在畫布上依樣畫葫蘆。這些透過媒體「翻譯」的圖象,有時是一朵雲、一個無人的跳水台、或是一塊牛油,儘管都非常「寫實」,卻因為被切割擷取之後而變的孤立。加上黎卓華刻意把彩度和色溫壓低,再在有限的調子中調整出微妙的變化,因此畫面又變得非常的cyber。她去年在台北藝博展出的裝置,把繪畫中的靜物「還原」成立體石膏「雕塑」,淡紫色的桃和黃白色的檸檬放在真實的果籃,尖銳的生果刀卻是幅油畫,產生無以名狀的戲劇感。這種y世代的觀照方式,在媒體與再媒體之中找尋「真實」,正好與曾翠薇一代活在不同的兩個世界。

標籤的策略性利用

WONG Ka Ying - friends

圖:黃嘉瀛 Friends
Fuji Instax Wide Film 10.8 cm X 8.6 cm 一套六件 2011年

 「女性藝術家」這個身份,應要避之則吉或策略性利用?在越來越少談論女性主義的藝術圈,好像再有重提的必要。去年才剛畢業的黃嘉瀛,以爆炸性的女生姿態,大玩bad girl feminism─在展覽圖冊印上裸照,誠徵「叔叔包養」。然她的畢業作品,卻又回到pictorial plane,把性與政治兩種禁忌壓在玻璃底下。在一片「乖畫」成風的今天,如斯赤裸的女性宣言,到底能否殺出重圍?

Back to Top