Art Appraisal Club

Apart from tricks and kicks – brief discussion on key moves in art criticism

Text/Vivian Ting

 

 

 

Here comes the golden age for artworks. The booming art market does not only rejuvenate the public’s imagination towards art itself, but also renovate the cityscape – with the joint efforts from the Government, cultural institutions and business sector alike, art decorations are seen in government buildings, markets, parks, and shopping centres. You may have an art piece as your “neighbour” when you are on public transport. This cultural shift in the territory brings various artistic writings – news reports on art events, features in magazines, exhibition catalogues, and commentaries on the Internet etc. While contemporary art sparks off wide ranges of creative practices, artistic writings complete the picture with words.

Artistic writings to this day, which are collectively termed as “art criticism”, carry diverse components – ranging from personal reflections, intellectual packaging from commercial art galleries, analysis of the art market, to aesthetic account on artists and their works. One key trick employed in giving art criticism is to replace what one sees and experiences with what one emotionally connects. The other one is to attach academic theories and cultural criticism to whatever art pieces in description. The tricks extend neither the space for art criticism nor discussions on the development in art, culture and social ideology. Instead, they only bring vague and detached accounts of art itself.

How are we going to open up new horizons in the field of art criticism? Let’s explore how four local art critics do so through an analysis of their writing styles.

Three, Chan Sai Lok exercises his tricks, “cloud hands”, by first targeting at the presentation of each art piece. He successfully draws readers into the aura of the work for an experience of the artists’ concepts and emotions. Sai Lok’s focus in his art criticism is to elaborate on how artists transform their ineffable emotions, delicate senses and intellectual ideas into friendly art pieces. He does it through detailed analysis on the text and its structure, rhythm, materials and contexts of visual languages. When it comes to contemporary art bearing intellectual messages, Sai Lok explores the links between the challenging presentation and its grounding principles and theories. Sai Lok further demonstrates his writing in a poetic style – by going with the flow of both the visual impacts of the work and his personal emotional shifts viewing it. He vividly expresses feelings in tantalizing words, even when it is an inimical work in description. Plain and loose as his texts may seem, Sai Lok auspiciously delivers his views, offers diverse analytical approaches and poses new questions to readers.

Yang Yeung exercises her meticulous thinking and all-rounded arguments in her art criticism. She first detects flaws in her opponents’ stance by analyzing their logic. When the flaws are exposed and counter-attack is impossible, she readily advances herself with her solid standpoints. Yang sees every artwork as a material representation of physical senses and intellectual thinking. It might be hard to translate the direct emotional strikes it brings to audience into words; yet the humanistic values, critical thinking and genuine feelings that art explores all relate closely to the set of objective rules binding individuals together in a society. Yang’s art criticism aims at starting an ideological debate – in which one shares his logic with the kindred, fuels discussions and reflects on the current cultural context. Her excellence in understanding of various academic theories secures herself a firm foothold in the field. It is with that she organizes her ideas and elaborates on principles and values guiding her journey in art. For Yang, the writing process is one with endless reflections. Her ultimate goal is not to back her ideas with countless theories, but to save positive energy against the negative aura that persists in the contemporary art culture.

Jeff Leung firmly grasps the theme of art criticism. He twists, lingers and support ideas with historical examples. His sole focus on art criticism stays in the way exhibitions create multiple meanings in art. He sees exhibitions as an indisputable platform, not only for showcasing contemporary art, but also for continual discussions among artists, curators and audience. It is through this platform our perception in art can be sustained, constructed and deconstructed. Important as it is, local art criticism seldom touches on the system of curation. Jeff concentrates on examination of the development history of local exhibitions – from types of curation, mechanism and logic driving exhibitions to shifts in their space. From these he considers the construction of tastes in contemporary art and relevant systems. Leung writes freely to detail evolutions in the art ecosystem: borrowing elements from popular culture like animation, creating new syntax by putting nouns in different contexts together. This not only opens up new dimension in readers’ mind, but also reflects how curation impacts audiences’ viewing experience. It is from that unique experience one creates, adds, deletes and alters the meaning and art piece carries.

Seeing herself as a core member of the local art scene, Anthony Leung’s art criticism shares a dual aim – to reason art, and to change the status quo. Her straight forward personality is duly reflected in her powerful art criticism pointing directly to myths towards analysis artwork, or the less than agreeable phenomena in local art scene. When art criticism interprets the world with words, the creative process of art does so with intellectual perspective. They together complete a dialectical process. It is through writing and creation that artists and art critics engage in constant dialogue, which brings diverse voices to art and fuels cultural development. Anthony thinks art criticism should start with the visual and emotional experience with the art piece, followed by communication with artists. The latter helps to explore the thinking process the artists engage themselves in, as well as the socio-cultural background involved. Her art criticism does not only offer microscopic view at individual work in multiple perspectives, but also macro ones towards the art ecosystem. Her work critically arouses public’s concern on cultural topics. She applies the abstract concepts in theories when breaking the conventional ideological framework. She does not only offer multiple meanings in the creative process, but also set forth a direction for ongoing cultural discussion. In all, she is a powerful agent for cultural evolution.

Art Criticism – what for?

The styles of art criticism vary, yet they share a common aim – to envision the formulation of art discourse and shifts in cultural trends through examination of the development of artwork, exhibitions, and art ecosystem as a whole. Their joint effort in stretching the platform of art as one public thinking machinery does not only initiate multiple perspectives for reflection, but also generate cultural discourses uniquely fit the contemporary society.

Back to Top

Art Appraisal Club

六脈神劍、乾坤大挪移以外… 略談藝評的招式要訣

「藝評」的花拳繡腿

這是滿城盡是藝術品的黃金年代。藝術巿場的興旺帶動了全城對藝術的想像,而政府、文化機構、企業更致力以藝術粉飾城巿面貌。藝術裝潢盤踞了政府大樓、街巿與公園,商場又見遍地藝術品,連乘坐交通工具也與藝術毗鄰而坐。香港當前的文化轉向催生了有關藝術「盛事」的報導,也促成了雜誌專訪、展覽圖錄、網絡評論等各式各樣的藝術書寫。當代藝術千姿百態是萬象紛繁的江湖,而藝術書寫就是以文字羅織成足與江湖媲美的錦繡山河。

時下藝術書寫包羅了個人觀後感、商業畫廊的知性包裝、藝術巿場走勢分析、藝術家及其作品的型格美學…並一律美名之曰「藝評」。其中又以兩套功夫—「六脈神劍」及「乾坤大挪移」蔚為顯學。前者以情緒化的聯想代替了眼睛所見、感知所經驗,隔空指指點點難免越寫越浮泛﹔後者則借用一套套學術理論運起巧勁,一觸及作品即衍生成波瀾壯濶的文化評論,越論越炫惑,也越扯越遠離藝術。藝術書寫拳來腳往熱鬧非凡,卻不見藝評空間日益拓張,引發更多有關藝術與文化發展、社會思潮的討論。

如何在六脈神劍、乾坤大挪移之外,打出藝評的新天新地﹖本文試從四位藝評人的書寫出發,淺談幾路藝評的招式。

 

雲手.阿三

Cloud hands – Sai Lok CHAN

雲手勁道若隱若現試圖從作品的表現形式入手,一出招即將讀者拉入作品的感知氛圍,從而體會藝術家的所思所感。阿三的雲手得力於著重文本分析的新批評,以細讀法仔細斟酌視覺語言的結構、韻律、材質與情境等,由此把梳藝術家如何將無以名狀的情緒、豐富又纖細的感知觸覺、以及知性的思考轉化成可親可感的藝術作品。面對強調知性論述的當代創作,阿三閱讀理論陳述時,更著意思考其艱澀的形式表現與理論脈絡的關係。正正由於藝術不一定平易近人,阿三的雲手總帶著散文隨性又揮灑的做派,順著作品帶引出的視覺觸動,也隨著自己觀看的情緒起伏,以文字敏銳細膩的傳譯其中感受。文章看似鬆散平淡,卻讓讀者讀出作者的觀點,更暗運柔勁拋出不同的思考方向,引領讀者從感受找出新想法、新問題。

 

八卦掌.楊陽

Multiple palms – Yang YEUNG

楊陽所使的八卦掌是一套思路綿密、立論面面俱到的掌法。其要訣在乎暗自看破對方論點的破綻,卻依循其邏輯層層解析﹔一旦對方無從反擊,即長驅直劈確立自己的觀點。楊陽認為藝術作品是身體感知與知性思考的物質表現,文字或許難以將直觀的感知觸動一一翻譯。但藝術所探討的人文價值、其對世界的真切感受以至判批思維卻指向賴以維繫社會群體的客觀準則。其藝評旨在展開思辯的過程,與志同道合者分享其思考邏輯,藉以互相砥礪,一同反思當下的文化處境。儘管楊陽關注的是藝術所體現的人文取態,但書寫卻甚少牽引出一套套理論行話。其八卦掌的精義在於洞悉不同理論背後的學術脈絡,從而找出自己的立足點、整理出屬於自己的想法,一招一式申明其所持守的原則及價值。楊陽強調寫作過程必須重重沉澱,以積儲富建設性的思考能量對應時下藝術文化的歪風。

 

一陽指.梁展峰

Aiming finger – Jeff LEUNG

一陽指招式老練,抓著論述主題或纏或扼,徵引史事,勾陳其中議題。一如其功夫竅門,梁展峰筆耕雖勤,其主題貫徹始終關注展覽如何創造藝術的多重意義。他認為展覽已是展演當代藝術不可或缺的平台,促成了藝術家、策展人與觀眾持續不斷的對話,維繫、建構甚至解析彼此對藝術的理解,而本地藝評卻鮮少觸及展覽論述的機制。其一陽指即集中火力於本地展覽發展史,從展演的形式、展覽操作的邏輯及場域空間的轉變等,思考當代藝術品味及相關論述的建構。從關節眼切入由點及面的綜論藝術生態的轉變,梁展峰的書寫而不拘一格,挪用動漫等流行文化元素,甚或自創新詞,其將不同的語境的名詞並置,既破開讀者的思考空間,亦每每反映展覽的展演形式如何左右觀者的藝術經驗,從而創造、增刪又或竄改作品的意義。

伏虎拳梁寶山

Tiger Fists – Anthony LEUNG

深感自己乃藝壇一份子,梁寶山的藝評既旨在思考藝術,也試圖改變現狀。其人快人快語,不平則鳴,練就的伏虎拳既狠又辣,以氣勢迅猛破解作品論述的迷思或藝壇亂象的癥結。她認為藝評以文字解讀世界,藝術創作則以感知理解現況,兩者毋寧是一正反合的辯證過程。而透過書寫與創作,藝評人與藝術家得以不斷對話,引發藝術的多元聲音與文化發展的動力。梁寶山認為藝評必須從藝術作品發端,張開眼睛、親身感受作品的形式表現,再藉由與藝術家的多方交流、近距離觀察,探究藝術家創作過程的思考及其社會文化的脈絡。她的藝評既有微觀的作品分析,以豐富藝術闡釋的多元視野,更兼及宏觀的藝術生態批判,喚起公眾對文化議題的關注。其伏虎拳的精要在於借助理論的抽象思維,破解既定的思考框架,點破創作的多重意義﹔更在於對當下藝術發展的深刻觀察,反客為主,率先發招擬定文化議題的論述方向,推動文化變革。

 

藝評何為﹖

各門各派的藝評旨趣不一,但卻一致的對應著作品、展覽、又或整體藝術生態的發展方向,思考藝術論述的建構與文化思潮的脈動。各家各派所拓展的藝評空間,同樣是擴大藝術這一公眾思考與想像的平台,激發多角度的思考,趨導出屬於當下的文化論述。

Back to Top