Art Appraisal Club

April Exhibition Review

Art Appraisal Club Meeting
April Exhibition Review
05/05/2014

1. Ju Ming — Sculpting the Living World
28/02/2014 – 15/06/2014
Hong Kong Museum of Art

  • Overall, the installation, display and the works as a combination is not appealing… in particular the spatial arrangements are a bit too messy to comprehend, apparently the volume and circulation of the visitors as well as the quality control of the art works together with their display are not being well considered in the process of making of the exhibition. There may be a lack of curatorial direction or that the curator was being put in a difficult situation to make effort, it could be a result of moving the collection into the museum from its origin in Taiwan that constrained the essence of the works to transcend.
  • Medium and material are the key for sculptures, yet the focus of the exhibition showing works of Ju Ming confused us as spectator with the application of a cage. The confusion of making such exhibition a showcase of sculptural works or that of installations, and that of a blur of making this an exhibition of modern art or contemporary art is a disappointment. Was such curatorial decision made as a bold move to unveil the Ju Ming that has never been known before? Or it was made as a pilgrimage of the masterpieces? This series of works being shown as such in the museum in Hong Kong lack a consistent and clear curatorial direction, nor it has a narrative to illustrate on the ways to understand the works respectively and as a whole; there is also no imagination at all, leading audiences to think that the works made in the 80’s were reaching the peak of the artist’s career… while the poorly-made video included in the show was sidetracking from the focus of the exhibition…
  • To be more constructive, we would ask ourselves as art administrators, art critic and art curator the question of how and what would we plan for the exhibition, if it was in our hands? The first thing comes to our minds is to reserve as much space as possible for reasonable distance and room for people to realistically appreciate the art works, selection of works to be shown is a must being put on top of the to-do list, the worst decision ever been made is to showcase all the pieces of Ju’s works like sellers in the wet market would do.
  • It is of utmost importance to comprehend the initiatives and philosophy of the artist, never make wild guess or superficial ways to understand his art – the making of the art all through the years is not as easy and simple as how it seems, like how the docent said in the guided tour… Docent tour is significance to an exhibition as well as the institution that launches it, it should be inspiring , appealing and interactive, never should it be a very uninteresting quiz or fill-in-the-blank. The content of the tours should be very critical and not to be just informative. Feedback is well gained when the docents learnt to examine spectators’ responses, and then these very important observations would build and develop the institution well.

2. Samson Young – Sound is a fluid, flowing medium akin to liquid
04/04/2014 – 18/05/2014
AM Space

  • It quite difficult to understand the exhibition, quite abstract and estranged, for there are 2-dimensional and 3-dimensional works that are very visual – though, having these said the ‘readability’ is quite high, the room for interpreting and imagining the works is very big, because the sound art and paintings are very well interacted to present a very pleasing effect.
  • It is quite disturbing to use headphones to listen to the art works in such a small space, the display should worked better technically. Though the experience is not an’easy’ one, there is a good balance between the spatial arrangements and the number of works being shown, which introduce well the audiences to enter their imaginations. For the details, the map that lead the way for people to comprehend the show could have done better, referencing the map is being restrained – limited space and complication of collecting the information made it hard to get hold of the works that should originally been very articulate.
  • An exceptional context was being applied in framing this series of works, which is well done to distinct it from the former works and shows, the concept used served as a retrospective that the artist proactively made a humble study of himself is very moving and creative. New attempt of presenting his old works is to made clear of the approaches and ways of how the artist think and comprehend his own art, while such work could derived other versions and editions, which is one of its kind.
  • A heated debate in the meeting was the complications and interwoven relationships of sound and visual images that composed the artworks, which was of great fun and highly critical, for these explorations could illustrate how interpretation (or interpretative curating) matters in the process of making of the exhibition and the aftermath of its appreciation and critiques. Stand alone in telling from which comes first – the audio (collected on spot at the site or postproductions?) or the visual elements – had made art works very rich. The aesthetic values come from the imaginations that it induced, and to think of the politics about sound as inspired by it. While such exhibition led us to think about why data and information collection are needed… But why are these days we are having so many archival exhibitions.

3. So I don’t really know sometimes if it’s because of culture: Mixed Media Exhibition by Leung Chi Wo
25/04/2014 – 17/05/2014
CMC Gallery, Run Run Shaw Creative Media Centre, City University of Hong Kong

  • The exhibition connects with those art works made by Leung before, all the things arranged and showcased are very consistent, there were much layers with sophistications in the presentation of information, sound, text and dialogues, hence to lead audiences well to enter the artist’s imaginations. It may seem boring at the beginning, yet if one concentrates on his video, the translations and interpretations made were very delicate and mind-opening, which guide us to ask many questions on issues universal to people around the world, hence showing concern of people who live around us. Yet on the technical side of the presentation, it took too long to demand spectators to finish viewing of the video work, which the screen is too close to the audience, who may feel annoyed by having needed to wear headphones.
  • It is a tricky and somehow contradicting topic to discuss on the showcasing of creative works, it is a lifelong subject to learn and to explore on how to frame and represent the relationship between artists and their works. It is fair to say that artist took up the role as a researcher to examine on artistic directions when producing an archival show – it is never a concern on history but concerns on political stance, materials, contexts, society and the cultures.
  • Regardless of the spectators’ expectations from the exhibition, for both insiders in the field or public in general, the exhibition should gain credit for working on a clear and firm curatorial direction, and it is unfair to compare this show to the others with similar motif/theme. The works showcased keep a good distance with the viewers, meanwhile connect with people of different background. The viewing experience is unique for it carries the genuineness of Hong Kong as well estranges people to engage on issues that we usually omit in the everyday life.
  • Leung was not well presented by local press and media on his local qualities , however the coverage of him is quite well on international level, even though they did not address his ‘Hongkongness’ too.

4. Meditations in Mature: New Ink
27/03/2014 – 07/05/2014
Ben Brown Fine Arts

  • Everyone wondered why galleries chose to do ink painting exhibition, for such medium is never a common practice being shown? Or internationally the selling of ink art is not good. We wondered if the trend was being started by the feature made by Sotheby’s the auction house? Or the very well received show at the Metropolitan Museum of Art? Nontheless, those works are conceptual ink and not genuine (traditional?) ink art — this led us to another important question: What is ink art/ ink painting?
  • Did this exhibition promotes Hong Kong local ink art in its development?

5. Bonds of Memory: Wan Qingli’s Collection of Chinese Art Given by His Teachers and Friends Exhibition
13/12/2013 – 23/04/2014
Hong Kong Museum of Art

  • Is a wonderful show! Although the research and study done beforehand were not in good depth when compared to that done by the Academy (China Central Academy of Fine Arts), there should be more illustrations and discussions done on the narratives. It is better to do sectioning for the exhibition differentiating the various social circles in relation to the artist himself, so not to make the show fall into the ‘boring archival exhibition’ category.
  • The narrative of the show should not be made like a chronologic biography, the easiest way to display the works and to make sense of them is to understand well about the various social circles, and to do the arrangements accordingly. When the connections and networks are well illustrated, and with the good appropriation made of interpreting each significance piece and the exhibition as a whole, one would understand how the generation of artists at the time is so influential.

Back to Top

Art Appraisal Club

四月份展覽回顧

Art Appraisal Club 月會

四月份展覽回顧

05/05/2014

1. 刻畫人間 ─ 朱銘雕塑大展

28/02/2014- 15/06/2014

香港藝術館

  • 整體在作品方面和設置都不敢恭維……特別在空間運用上實在太雜亂,沒有考量人流和作品的展示質素。或許是館內沒有太多策展人做功夫,又可能是將藏品移師到港發揮不了作品精髓。
  • 作品材質是雕塑的重點,但是次展示有部分用一個奇怪的籠,實在令人摸不著頭腦。做雕塑又像搞裝置;做摩登還是做當代藝術?要令人眼前一亮的一個勇敢推進或是要人來膜拜大師級作品的看展?定位出大問題。就算是轉型都要有故事敍述 (narratives) 的說明啊… 這一系列是欠缺想像力,讓人懷疑80年代的作品已是個高峰,亦是絕響。而展覽中的那段錄像好差,完全離題萬丈……
  • 建設性一點的做評論,我們會自問若是我們擺展覽會如果落實設置:首先一定不會用現場那些多餘的背景和陳設,空間一定預多,令作品多一點點角度空間予人感受,選擇一定要做,不是街市賣菜式任何新舊作都“哂冷”。
  • 一定要明白藝術家初衷和思想,不能胡亂猜或用膚淺的方式理解朱銘的藝術:他做的當然不止導賞員沒頭沒腦說的“咁簡單嘅嘢都做得咁好。”………好比“佢係女人都咁叻喎”一樣…做好導賞一定要引發聽眾思考和有互動,不是純粹一問一答蠢蠢的、以為是正確的填充題。互動是深入有內容和批判分析的,不能是純資料性的對答。好的導賞員還要透過互動去研究觀眾反應,對展覽和藝術家提供可靠的觀察及回響,對創作和機構發展都是十分重要的。

2. 我想看見所有 : 暴力邊界計劃

04/04/2014 – 18/05/2014

AM Space 

  • 陳設方面每次用耳機聽作品在這樣細小的場地做好煩擾。雖然觀賞方面有點辛苦,但由於每方面如展示空間運用、作品數量等都平衡,所以能讓觀者進入他的想像。再用心看,陳設有點冇所謂:其實可以再 fine tune(細緻)的做(如地圖好難揭)。觀眾辛苦的第二個原因是展覽需要人參看地圖去探索,場地有限制之餘又不易找資料……體驗有趣但不容易理解。
  • 好難明白,比較虛無縹緲,直接的反應是做立體物件又做平面視覺的東西好奇怪;雖然可以說觀眾可讀性很高,詮釋理解想像的空間好寬大,因為聲音和畫作的互動效果相當好。
  • 以另一語景做此系列好值得嘉許,與以往作品很大分別,將概念都投入在作品裡,看得出是很懂自省又內歛的做創作,新嘗試又與自己以往作品連貫理順自己思路,一個作品又能衍生很多版本,難得。

討論中最有趣和有批判性的,是聲音與畫面視像的千絲萬縷對藝術作品的詮釋有着甚麼影響和意義。大家都認同,正正是聲畫的抽象關聯性讓作品更有層次。這兩個原素,會是哪個出現先呢?而在想藝術家是否在一個現場取材,還是後期製作的一個反應創作,就已經夠過癮了。引申的想是聲音的 politics 跟主題界別,媒體平台的各種想像。採集聲音的方法和展示方式等等都有一套美學,引人入勝。用材料和展示形造到一種吊詭的敍述,令人思考:邊界究竟有沒有“踩界”的可能?感覺模糊的話又與當刻的自我有何關係?文案,聲音和圖畫有沒有主次之分,需要嗎?文獻部分又引發到我們想為何資訊設計跟收藏有關。我們又在想為甚麼文獻式展覽那讓多……

3. 梁志和混合媒體展覽 :「那麽我有時真的不知道是否文化的緣故 」

25/04/2014 - 17/05/2014

香港城市大學邵逸夫創意媒體中心3樓CMC Gallery 

  • 與前作非常有連繫,所有東西都係十分連貫,資料展示、聲音、文字及對話等等都好有層次,十分清晰的引導觀眾去了解展覽。第一時間看的時候,直接的以為展覽很納悶,都是坐着看錄像,但不久就發現梁志和把玩的 “翻譯(translation)”並不簡單,男女聲互換驟變,其實與不同話語文字一樣,是繁多不同吧了,一個國際性的問題。不過觀賞上比較辛苦,因為錄像要站立十多分鐘才能看完,觀者設定站立觀看位置與屏幕太近,同時又要戴聽筒……
  • 展示創作從來都是矛盾的課題,如何將藝術家與作品的關聯呈現是一大學問。藝術家擔當一個研究員的角色做一個檔案資料展覽不是一個歷史考量,其實是個藝術取向,是個關切政治立場、材料、語景、社會與文化的表現。
  • 說到底,觀眾的期望要求是很不同的,而就算要求明白敍事角度不愔藝術展覽的一群、又或是已下判斷覺得混淆的常客都好,都應該感受到這展覽有清晰和堅定的策展方向,實在沒必要將這與別個有差不多主題的展覽作比較。梁成功形造與觀眾不大相關的事作主題做藝術,是獨當一面的,成功做到與觀眾有適當距離,同時跟不同背景的每個個體全面的以觀看視覺藝術連繫一起,既有香港本土特色又有一種陌生的感覺。
  • 梁志和是時常受本地媒體忽略其本土性的一個藝術家,外國傳媒如是,雖然後者和國際媒體平台比香港的時刻都關注他。

4. 水墨心境

18/03/2014 – 07/05/2014

Ben Brown Fine Art

  • 大家都狐疑為何畫廊會做和想以水墨做展覽,是因為一直此媒介的畫作慣性不會在這性質空間出現?還是實際上作品都不會銷售得好?是蘇富比拍賣行打頭陣引領,還是紐約拍賣做專題、大都會藝術博物館(Metropolitan Museum of Art)做過而回嚮好有影響?姑勿論原因何如,這些都是觀念性水墨,並非真水墨 — 這就引領我們思考一個大學問:何謂水墨?
  • 展覽究竟有否推動本土水墨發展

5. 存念: 萬青珍藏師友饋贈書畫印展覽

13/12/2013 – 23/04/2014

香港藝術館 中國書畫展覽廳

  • 好看!但不及美院做的深入,論述不足,想知道展示的社交圈中各人物關係相互影響不果,內容流於表面形成展覽像個平平無奇的文獻展。
  • 展示不應用時序自傳形式編制,了解脈絡最好用社交圈分析展示,給觀眾清晰的看歷史事件再了解人物背景和此展覽用心,因為種種都是對展示的這一輩重要藝術家有影響。現在敘述太狹隘,浪費了豐富內容,所以說作品和文本等等展品的呈現好緊要。

Back to Top