Art Appraisal Club

Front and Voice, two sides of history – Samson Young’s field exploration of the sound of World War II

Text/Leung Po Shan Anthony 

 

 

 

 

During the Occupying Movement/ Umbrella Movement in 2014, Hong Kong people devised ingenious ways and drew inspiration from the media in order to express their demands for universal suffrage. They were even more creative than professional artists. Nevertheless, how can we transcend the misappropriation of political symbols? Will we have deep seated reflection on politics and aesthetics in the wake of the clamor of carnival-like social movement? Seriously, these are the questions remaining unanswered to the Art field in Hong Kong. We found ourselves situated in the swirl of globalisation of Contemporary Arts as well as under the huge shadow of Statism. Being small, private and introverted is almost a curse on Hong Kong Arts. How can post-97 Hong Kong shake off the obsession with being marginal and secure our position in between fluidity and uncertainty? Can we counterattack through innovation in culture even if there is no advancement in democratic movement? Can we open up a vast grey area in between black and white? Can we restore the shattered silhouette from the ruins of history? May we turn our back on the future and look back to the past, just like Walter Benjamin’s description of Paul Klee’s ‘Angelus Novus’ ?

 

A fluid boundary  A lost territory

Samson Young was born in 1979 in Hong Kong. He immigrated to Australia when he was studying in Form 2. He underwent training of Classical Music in his childhood. He always casts doubt on the nature of culture and gender owing to his early study in Philosophy and Gender Studies at University. His PhD thesis criticises the self-orientalism of Chinese international composers. In 2009, Samson was graduated from the Princeton University and back to Hong Kong. At that time, Hong Kong was in conflict with Mainland China on account of the problems caused by Individual Visit Scheme and Anchor babies. The abstract debate over political reform was transformed to everyday street conflict. Samson Young found that theories of Identity Politics cannot meet the challenges of Real Politics. ‘Now I recall my experience of immigration — I intentionally avoided my Cantonese accent and forced myself to make friends with white men — I found that when overemphasizing fluidity of body, somehow, we will repress the immobile body. It makes us no place to stand and at a loss in a hopeless situation,’ said Samson Young. The conflict became intensified; nonetheless, Samson Young did not search for answers from social movement. Instead, he set foot on the geographical border between Hong Kong and Mainland China. He walked along the barbed wire which has separated the two places since 1951 with a view to recording sound. Since 2012, he has developed a series of works titled as ‘Liquid Borders’. He does not take sides; instead, he allows sound to speak — border is only a man made differentiation. The recorded sound shows no difference from either side. Border and man-made difference cannot trap birds, fish, air and running water. Samson Young has walked along this border of identity politics for two years to conduct his field study in the slough. He discovered a long road of contradicted symbols. Moreover, boundary lines and symbols are not only metaphor of cultural identity. Musicians’ viewpoints are somewhat different from visual artists’. Finally, in the form of graphical notation, the recorded sound and his interpretation become the traces on papers. It makes the work poetical and conveys the derivative of sound.

 

Repetition of history of re-media

Classical music emphasizes discipline on body; therefore, Samson Young usually creates from concepts. Nevertheless, his works possess the musician’s labourious quality. Pastoral Music is about the border and front — a 18 km long Gin Drinkers Line which was set from Port Shelter in Sai Kung to nowadays Kwai Fong. This line disappeared in history and it was originally constructed to resist Japanese invasion from the north; surprisingly, it fell in a short time. Thus, Hong Kong has been absent in the history of World War II till now. Samson Young immersed himself along the line so as to echo history through sound. Besides, he made a bold assumption: Can the former border defense against the invasion from the north? Hence, he queries the so-called realistic politics is actually unrealistic. In the trip, he hummed the Cantonese version of the song Z českých luhů a hájů in the trench. This song was translated into Chinese and the last line of the lyric is ‘My dear friend, what’s on your mind?’ Does a line distinguish friends and enemies? How can resistance be possible as long as the line is an ever-moving slough? From body to sound, from battlefield to exhibition, Samson Young has no intention to re-present history or take side in politics. He intends to re-perform history through the self-ritualised body and various media. Music score is carved on the stone — only visual, without sound; film clips of war are the same, but Samson Young plays live music. Audience cannot identify any traces of Hong Kong politics directly; however, his works incite our deeply rooted political imagination. From the abandoned land, he explores the possibilities of history.

 

To Hong Kong artists, the occupying movement is another unforgettable shock since June 4th incident: How can we transcend the boundary between aesthetics and politics, local and nation? It depends on the efforts of this generation.

(The full version of this article was published in Art Appraisal Club’s ‘Asia TriennialManchester’http://www.artappraisalclub.com/harmonious-society/ )

 

Leung Po Shan, Anthony

An active art critic based in Hong Kong. She is the PhD candidate of Cultural Studies of the Chinese University of Hong Kong and the member of Hong Kong Culture Monitor and Art Appraisal Club. Her research interests involve: City’s space, Art Labour and Cultural Politics, etc.

 

Translated by

Pat To Yan

Back to Top

Art Appraisal Club

戰線與聲線,歷史的兩面—楊嘉輝對二戰的聲音田野探索

撰文/梁寶山

2014年的佔中/雨傘運動,市民在佔領區內外各出奇謀,靈活運用媒體塑材,表達政治訴求,創意比藝術家有過之而無不及。如何超越對政治符號的表面挪用,從嘉年華會般的喧囂之中,沉澱出對政治和美學更深層次的反思?正是香港藝術界當前急需面對的嚴肅課題。處身在當代藝術全球化的漩渦之中,和在國家主義的龐大陰影之下── 微小、私密、內向……幾乎就是對香港藝術的咒詛。後九七的香港,到底可以如何擺脫對邊緣的迷戀,在流動與不確定之中站穩陣腳,即使民主運動苦無寸進,仍然奮力在文化上絕地翻身?怎樣才能夠在非此即彼之外,游走出一片廣闊的灰色地帶?甚至從歷史的廢墟中重拾破碎的身影,就像本雅明形容Paul Klee筆下的《新天使》一般,背對末來,回望過去?

 

游走的界線失落的領域

楊嘉輝1979年生於香港,中二時隨九七移民潮移居澳,自小接受西方古典音樂訓練,大學時期再添上哲學與性別研究的學術思考,令他養成對文化和性別本質的懷疑傾向。他所撰寫的音樂博士論文,正是批判國際華裔作曲家的自我東方化。2009年楊嘉輝從普林斯頓大學學成歸港,其時中港矛盾因自由行與雙非居港權,從抽象的政制爭拗演變成小市民在日常生活上的街頭衝突。楊嘉輝才驚覺原來的身份政治理論,跟本無法處理現實政治的挑戰:「現在回想當時的移民經驗──講英語時刻意抺除我的廣東口音、又迫自己去結交白人朋友—原來當我們過份強調身體的流動性時,其實亦會對難以流動的身體造成壓抑;無盡地解構,原來只會令我們失去立錐之地,反抗進退失據。」在越演越烈的敵我矛盾之中,楊嘉輝沒有在街頭尋找答案,而是俏俏走到地理上真正的中港邊界,沿着自1951年開始分隔兩地的鐵線網,收錄聲音,自2012年起,開展了題為《暴力邊界》系列。他沒有選擇只站在任何一方,而是讓聲音去說明界線不過是人為的分別 (differentiation) —從鐵絲網這面收錄的聲音,其實與對面別無兩樣。我們以為歷歷在目的差異、分別的界線,困不了飛鳥和游漁、空氣與流水。楊嘉輝花了兩年時間,沿着這條身份政治的邊界,田野的泥沼中考察,一路盡是種種自相盾矛的符號。而界線與符號,更不單只是文化身分的隱喻。音樂人的眼睛,總能看出有別於視覺藝術家的想像。收錄得來的聲音,加上他身歷其境後的演譯,最後以圖象記譜法 (graphical notation) 方式,變成留在紙上的痕跡,看/閱讀起來既充滿詩意,又具有還原成聲音的衍生性。

 

再媒體的歷史重演

西方古典音樂着重對身體的規訓 (discipline),使得楊嘉輝的創作是從概念出發,但作品還是具備音樂人的勞動 (labourious) 特質。這次的《原野牧歌 (Pastoral Music)》,從邊界到戰線,以延綿18公里的醉酒灣防線為題,由西貢牛尾海直到今日的葵芳。這條消失於歷史之中的界線,本來用於抵抗日軍從北面的進攻,但在一夜之間立即失守,亦使得香港在二戰歷史中的缺席延續至今。故此,楊嘉輝不單希望再次透過身歷其境的方式,以聲音重新激盪出歷史的迴響,更大膽假設昔日的香港防線,到底能否抵擋今日來自北方的侵略,從而質疑所謂的現實政治,當中其實包含了多少的不切實際。旅途中,他在戰壕的破洞中喃喃地哼響「在森林和原野」。這首被翻譯成中文的牧歌,歌詞的最後一句是:「親愛的朋友,你在想什麼?」一線之隔,真的就夠區分別出朋友和敵人?但是如果界線是不斷游移的泥沼,抵抗又如何可能?從身體到聲音,戰場與展場,楊嘉輝無意「重現」歷史,或者承認一種既定的政治立場,卻希望透過自身儀式性的身體操演,利用不同媒介「重演」歷史。刻寫在石塊上的樂譜,有畫無聲;而同樣是有畫無聲的戰爭片段,則將會由他本人來現場配音。觀眾不會在作品中找到任何直指今日香港政治的蛛絲馬跡,卻在在撩動我們根深柢固的政治想像,從荒廢的原野,鑽探出歷史的可能性。

 

遍地開花的佔領運動,是繼一九八九年六四以來,時代對香港藝術家的另一次更刻骨銘心的震盪,如何跨越美學與政治,本土與國族的邊界?還看這一代人的努力。

 

(本文足本原刊Art Appraisal Club「曼徹斯特亞洲藝術三年展」專頁。http://www.artappraisalclub.com/harmonious-society/ )

 

梁寶山香港活躍藝評人。現為香港中文大學文化研究博士候選人、香港文化監察及Art Appraisal Club成員。研究範疇包括城市空間、藝術勞動與文化政治等。

 

 

Back to Top