Art Appraisal Club

How close we have come to being rich

Text/Yeung Yang

 

 

 

In a recent public forum at the College Art Association Annual Conference in Chicago, scholar/curator Bruce Barber compared the curator today to the hedge funds manager, whose goal in managing assetsis to reduce risk. The metaphor was intended as polemic to begin a critical examination of the complexity of the economic position of curators working in institutional structures today. What impressed me about his presentation was that in the act of critique, it affirmed the importance of expanding the dialogical possibilities of curating and curators’ constant self-questioning – curating could contribute toas well as fail art. While curating has consequences on art, curators could make choices that mitigate the consequences.

This essay aims to invite artists in Hong Kong who are skeptical of curating to give curating a chance. The skepticism may be a product of complex circumstances, but some doubts artists may have are well-founded. For instance, how many curators in Hong Kong do studio visits, spending long periods of time with artists to learn about their works as an end in itself, not for meeting exhibition deadlines? How and how much do curators speak critically in public about their reasons for working with some artists and not others, making choices informed not only by personal taste, but by artistic contribution, or accountability and ethical positions? The less such questions are discussed openly, the more rigid the barriers of forging trust become. We end up not seeing each other as whole persons in a peer community. This would definitely fail art.

Chicago_general1Chicago_general3

Stepping back from how curating has unfolded in the contemporary world, in order that historical reality does not limit our imagination of ideals, I propose that curating is an activity of conferring value upon objects of art – objects in all facets of the term, from bounded physical entities to spatially, temporally, socially, and technologically mediated systems that are generative, site-specific, and open. They are chosen and gathered in specific ways as objects for attention and contemplation in such settings as exhibitions, projects, events etc., where their specific values in relation to each other are attended to. Atthe same time, curating is also an activity of conferring value upon art in general. To choose to curate artis to regard art as a good to pursue; to curate well is to bring about the good of art, in its specificity and generality.

While curating is commonly seen as the individual expression of a curator, I see it also as the expression of the curator’s submission to the force of the disparate objects of art made by other individuals – the artists. To curate is to find ways to let her own and others’ ideas sound out each other. This encounter is productive by enabling a nexus in which the value of each other in a certain public realm (varying between the chosen forms of presentation) could be deliberated. I have recently encountered two exhibitions in the US, in which specific curatorial gestures encourage different ways of thinking about the exhibits and art in general. They are telling as to how curating could indeed be an activity of valuing art,and failing it.

Chicago_general4Chicago_general2
 

 

The official narrative of The Way of the Shovel: Art as Archaeology, presented by the Museum ofContemporary Art Chicago, is that it questions history and its truthfulness. The shovel is presented literally, as artists dig and excavate and as their works address such labour. The shovel is also metaphorical in that it returns art to the matters and materials that come before it as ‘art work’. The curator and artists make it clear in the audio tour (http://shifting-grounds.net/exhibition.html) that theyare not doing scientific archaeology, and there are differences between what artists do and what archeologists do in relation to history. My problem with the exhibition is whether the way the materialsare presented live up to what it intends. For instance, accompanying the photographic work of Jason Lazarus entitled “Above Sigmund Freud’s couch” is a caption that says, “the artist ‘excavates‘ the ceiling” (above Freud’s consultation couch) in what is “probably the most revered excavation site in thehistory of psychoanalysis.” Not only does the caption compete with the title of the work by being repetitive of it, but it also risks adding an unnecessary dimension of popularism to the interpretation of an ambiguous and complex image that conjures up a mixture of noise, anxiety, solitude, power, anddesire, which has nothing to do with the sentiment of reverence to an excavation site. It is possible the curation intends to make us complicit of the gaze of many, but to what effect? what does this shared act of looking make us, and make the act of the artist looking? Guidance along this line of thinking is not tobe found. Instead, along this exhibit and some others, captions tell visitors to listen with their mobile phones to the narratives of psychoanalysts and archaeologists on the particular object on display and its context. Surely, to include experts’ opinions is to encourage understanding. But what kind ofunderstanding? If artists know in ways that are different from how archaeologists know, what does thiskind of disciplinary narratives introduced as explanation of the art do to the art? While the curation draws on established disciplines to explain itself, as if its loyalty to them needs no questioning, there is no concomitant acknowledgement of the specificity of the artists’ contribution in ways of knowing, or un-knowing. This treatment of the artists’ ideas risks neutralizing art into a set of didactic narratives that tell us how we should make of them. The original intent of acknowledging artists’ ways of working with history becomes subordinated to what is already established as legitimate and taken-for-granted ways of working with history.

 

On the contrary, Live Archive, coincidentally also by Jason Lazarus at the Contemporary Jewish Museumin San Francisco offers a different kind of curatorial gesture. It creates more open parameters and exertsmore challenging demands on viewers to consider the exhibits. The exhibition begins with an installation entitled ‘5/19/12 2012, Glow-in-the-dark tape’. The caption offers a story of how the tapes were‘salvaged’ from a dark room that is now closed. The caption ends by saying, “As way-finders for both the students and the medium, these sections of tape suggest new directions in practice and pedagogy delineated by the loss of the tape’s usefulness. The skillful attentiveness required in the darkroom has been largely replaced by the ubiquity of digital photography, and the effects on the future of artistic production are still the subject of speculation.” The tapes are obsolescent; but the meaning of what is rendered obsolescent in the way history unfolds itself is kept uncertain and open.

IMG_3372      JewishMuseum_SF_outside  Photo:Jewish Museum San Francisco

To find the way-finder, one must look all the way up towards the uppermost corner of the wall; two,roughly six-inch tapes are placed in the sign of multiplification. Then, making a sharp turn into a differentcorner, one is greeted by three walls full of emotionally-charged protest signs made in artist-ledworkshops in response to Occupy Wall Street in 2011. Among them are “I’M NOT A ‘HUMANRESOURCE’. I AM A ‘HUMAN BEING’.”, “SORRY FOR THE INCONVENIENCE. WE ARE TRYING TO CHANGE THE WORLD.” Together, the poignancy of the tapes at the first corner and the deafening silence of the protest signs in the next conjure up a moment that compels our reflection on the agency of our subjectivity and its limits in the world we live.

IMG_3385IMG_3376

 

In the same exhibition, a blanket-wrapped red-brown object, with black gaffer taped horizontally and vertically across it, is affixed to the wall. It is entitled Untitled (New Orleans) 2011. The caption, written in the first-person narrative, tells of how Lazarus found the board of dated African American photos fixed to it in a junk shop. According to the shop, he says, it was salvaged post-Katrina. The artist bought the Board, so “the shop wrapped and taped it up.” The exhibit is shown the way it “left the merchant’s arms”. No photograph is shown, but there are as many as one could imagine.

IMG_3418

There could be incessant debates on whether any single object in this exhibition, considered in isolation,is art at all. No claim has certainly been made either way. But in where and how the exhibits are placed in relation to how the gallery space unfolds and in relation to each other, their historical references are addressed but also suspended, to free up the possibilities of a different set of politics and aesthetics where they are. Lazarus treats the exhibition as “processes of learning” that take place between the artist and others. The ambiguity and tension in meaning are kept open for pondering. In this curation, the artist’s personal memory does not become an authority by first-hand testimony. Rather, it is sensual and fragile, and becomes a powerful critique of modern systems of preserving memory, an insight shared by Pierre Nora. Elsewhere, I have discussed his ideas from the essay “Between Memory and History: Les Lieux de Mémoire”1. For the purpose here, I would reiterate how he questions modern systems of memory preservation (museums, archives, monuments, etc.) for being sites of remains that deritualize our world. 2 While common responses to this misplaced politics is to present memories as objects of individual possession, Nora argues instead that it is the activity of remembering as lived experience that is at issue. To care for sites of memory is to care for remembering that is “at once immediately available concrete sensual experience and susceptible to the most abstract elaboration”3 (my emphasis). The question for the problem of memory is then shifted from what to remember to how to remember. As an example, Nora cites the observance of a commemorative minute of silence, a “concentrated appeal to memory by literally breaking a temporal continuity.”4 Lazarus’ Live Archive resonates. It calls for minutesof silence that are also dynamic sites for remembering. The artist’s process of thinking and questioning is an integral part of the exhibition, opened up as a series of choices made in the curation: what to controland what to let go of, who is involved and how etc. These choices all play a vital role in conferring value upon objects of human life. The way they are makes the exhibition – a temporary intervention in life -meaningful.

 

 

*引自(what about參考:Tove Jansson’s essay “The Stone”, collected in Sculptor’s Daughter, A Childhood Memoir (1968).

 

^ 藉此感謝亞洲文化協會獎助金, 讓我有機會經歷文中說及的所有, 並感謝中文大學大學通識基礎課程, 允準我暫時離開教務.Any error is mine. 如有錯漏歸於作者。

 

 

Back to Top

Art Appraisal Club

我們距離變得富裕有多遠

撰文/楊陽

 

美國大學藝術學會最近在芝加哥舉行周年大會。在當中一個公眾論壇上,學者 / 策展人Bruce Barber將現今的策展人比作對沖基金經理 — 他們都以減少風險為管理資產的最終目標。這個比喻無疑是一場爭論的開展,以期深入探討現時在體制內工作的策展人經濟地位的複雜性。他的論述當中觸動到我的是,在批判的同時,他分別肯定了就「策展」開展對話的可能性,和策展人不斷自我黠問的重要性—策展既可豐富藝術,又可遭塌藝術。策展對藝術的影響,可以因為策展人作的選擇而有所改變。

 

 

本文希望請對「策展」存疑的香港藝術家給予它一個機會。這份懷疑可能一連串複雜事件的結果,但無可否認當中有部份是有事實根據的。舉例說,有多少位香港策展人不為趕展覽「死線」,純粹為了解藝術家作品而走訪工作室、與他們詳談,深入瞭解他們的作品?策展人又如何公開地以批判論調說明他們選擇藝術家為合作夥伴的考慮?(這不單包括個人口味,還有藝術家貢獻、問責程度和道德價值等等因素的考量),而討論空間又有多少?當可公開討論的愈少,阻隔信任的障礙就愈頑固,最終,我們不能見証友儕間的進步,也就不能成就藝術。

Chicago_general1Chicago_general3

為了不讓歷史事實限制我們對理想的想像,從策展於當今處境開展退一步看,我建議把策展視作「為藝術作品賦予價值的行為」— 這包括對作品的各個層面:物件實體、所佔空間、時間、社會性、科技等各個體制的連繫,至令它們成為公開、衍生式及場域特定的藝術。它們被特意挑選、結集在展覽、項目等特定場所中,不單供觀者注視、沉思,亦展現出作品之間相對應的獨特價值。同時, 策展亦是為廣義藝術賦予價值的行為:選擇藝術策展是把藝術視作一份美好去追求,而成功的策展就是要帶出藝術中獨特和普遍的美好。

一般人都會視策展為策展人個人口味的展現,但我認為它也是策展人對由其他個體 — 藝術家們 — 創作的各式各樣藝術品的力量歸順的表現。策展就是讓策展人和其他人的想法互相試探,過程中建構的緊密連結,讓各人在特定的公共領域(視乎所選展示方式而定)的價值得以被展現、被思考。我最近參觀了兩個在美國的展覽,它們分別採取了特定的策展姿態,鼓勵觀者以截然不同的方式思考展品和廣義藝術。它們亦正向我們示範,策展如何成就藝術、破壞藝術。

Chicago_general4Chicago_general2

在芝加哥現代美術館展出的The Way of the Shovel: Art as Archaeology(在此譯為--鏟子之路,藝術考古)的官方論調是:質疑歷史以及其真實性。在展覽中,鐵鏟一方面按其原意被解讀 (藝術家們透過作品探討挖掘工作),另一方面成為隱喻:它令藝術品追本溯源,回到成形前的物質、素材,表達出製作藝術(ART WORK) 與藝術品(ARTWORK)的關聯。策展人與藝術家們在聲音導賞 (http://shifting-grounds.net/exhibition.html) 裡先開宗明義表明,他們並非在進行任何科學化的考古工作,繼而談及藝術家與歷史學家對「歷史」有不同的理解。然而,究竟當中各展品的展示的方式能否達到預期目標?舉例說,附在Jason Lazarus 題為 “Above Sigmund Freud’s couch” 的攝影作品中的說明寫道:「藝術家(在佛洛依德指導室的長椅上)『挖掘』天花」,並表示那是「大概在精神分析學裡最受尊重的一個挖掘點」。這段說明一方面重覆了作品名稱而不能讓後者突出,另一方面亦為本身已夠複雜、曖昧的畫面添加了多餘的流行層面 — 作品引發混合了噪音、不安、孤獨、權力、慾望的聯想,卻完全跟對考古遺跡的敬重之心無關。可能這個策展方式旨在使我們的觀點單一化,也就是要我們以後消耗影像的角度去「看」作品。但那是為了達到怎樣的效果?這個共同觀看的行為會令我們變得如何,又如何引導我們看藝術家本人的觀看行為?場內並未有任何輔助觀者的指引,反而透過段段伴隨作品的說明,指示觀者用手機聆聽特定作品的背景,還有精神分析學者和考古學家對它們的詮釋。在說明中包含專家意見固然有助觀者了解作品,但明確來說,是針對對哪方面的了解? 如果藝術家與考古學家所認知的有所不同,這種建基於學科理解的詮釋又會對藝術品有什麼影響? 當策展人毫不猶豫地以現有的學科去闡釋作品,藝術家希望透過作品表達的特定生活認知 / 未知的方式,則未有相應的對應這種對藝術家意念的處理,這樣很容易令作品變成教條式敍述,限制了觀者對它們的想像。一直視為正統、想當然的理解變成主導,展現藝術與歷史如何共存的原意反而變得次要了。

 

在三藩市當代猶太博物館展出,同屬Jason Lazarus的Live Archive展覧則反之採取完全不同的策展姿態 —- 它設定較寛鬆的規限,同時對觀者審美觀提出較高的要求。展覽以名為‘5/19/12 2012, Glow-in-the-dark tape’的裝置藝術作開端,伴隨著作品的說明道出一個從已關閉「黑房」拯救感光膠紙的故事,並以「雖然這段感光膠紙已無實際用途,但它們成功勾畫出實用和理論層面具備的新方向,成為引導學生和媒介的明燈。當在「黑房」工作所需的技藝和專注已漸漸被無處不在的數碼攝影取代,這個變化對藝術作品的影響仍屬未知之數」。雖然菲林已經過時,但一如歷史的自我呈現一樣,它帶來的意義仍未被定調。

IMG_3372     JewishMuseum_SF_outside 圖片:三藩市當代猶太博物館

要找到指路明燈,觀者須將視線投向最頂的牆角:兩卷各約六吋長的感光膠紙被倍大,接下來,隨著觀者的視線轉移至另一個角落,將會看到藝術家為回應2011年「佔領華爾街行動」而舉辦的工作坊中製作的抗議標語:「我不是一個生產資源、我是人」、「我們正試著改變世界,不便之處,敬請原諒」等等感情澎湃的標語遍佈三面牆。首個角落裡的感光膠紙,連同另一個角落裡那些帶來刺耳寂靜的抗議字句交織出一個特定時刻,讓我們深刻反思主觀意願的力量及其限制。

IMG_3385IMG_3376

在同一個展覧中,一件以毛氈包裹、被黑色封條縱橫交錯、名為Untitled (New Orleans) 2011的啡紅色物件被附置於牆上。以第一身描述的註釋說明Lazarus在舊貨店找到這塊貼滿古舊美藉菲裔家庭 相片木板的經過。Lazarus說:「根據店家所言,這塊板是在颶風卡特里娜襲美後被拯救出來的。因為我買下它,店家就替我包裹再封好。」這件展品就以從店家處取來時的形態展出。雖然沒附上任何照片,但觀者可以憑想像力構想出無限可能。

IMG_3418

在這展覽中,「每一件展品獨立是否藝術」的爭論可以沒完沒了,正反雙方都沒有任何定調。但展品如何被展示,展場空間如何被利用以及兩者之間的關聯,還有它們的歷史參照等,雖有觸及但均沒有定論,以開放更多可能性予不同政治及美學論調參與論述。Lazarus視該展覽為一個藝術家及其他人共同參與的學習過程。觀者也可深思那充滿曖昧和張力的意味;策展人的個人回憶並未成為解釋展覽意義的權威,反而透過它性感而脆弱的特質,對現今保留記憶的體制作出深刻批判,這也是Pierre Nora的觀點。我也曾發表文章,探討Pierre Nora題為“Between Memory and History: LesLieux de Mémoire”一文內的觀點。在此,我撰要地重申他如何向保存記憶的體制(例如博物館、資料庫、紀念碑等)提出質疑,指出它們令當今世界流於形式化。這個錯置的政治觀點,令現時對回憶最普及的描述流於「私有財產」的層面。Nora反而持相反的論調,指出回憶的重點,在於活生生的記憶體程及經歷。重視保留回憶的場域就等如視回憶為「即時又實在,容易受到抽象解說影響的經歷」(引號內是我視為重點的部份)。回憶的問題便由「記得什麼」轉移成「如何記得」。Nora以默禱為例,視之為「對回憶的集體呼籲 ─ 打破時間的持續性」,而Lazarus的Live Archive展覽正與此共鳴 — 它號召大眾視默禱為集體回憶的流動場景。藝術家的思考和黠問透過策展其間所作的抉擇 (掌控什麼、放棄什麼、牽涉誰人、如何參與等等) 成為整個展覽的一部份。在為生命萬事萬物賦予價值的過程中,這些抉擇均起著必要作用,而這套價值則令整個展覽 — 一個生活中短暫的介入 / 緩衝 — 更有意義。

 

參考: Tove Jansson’s essay “The Stone”, collected in Sculptor’s Daughter, A Childhood Memoir (1968).

 

藉此感謝亞洲文化協會獎助金, 讓我有機會經歷文中說及的所有, 並感謝中文大學大學通識基礎課程, 允準我暫時離開教務。如有錯漏歸於作者。

 

Back to Top